

MINUTES

of the

OKLAHOMA STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE

March 12, 2021 (rescheduled from canceled February 5, 2021 meeting)

The Oklahoma State Textbook Committee (STC) held a virtual meeting on March 12, 2021. This meeting was to vote on the approval of bid items for Substitutions, Nominate a Co-Chair, upcoming Adoption Cycle Subjects, and the Content-Expert Instructional Material Review Team Application.

Prior to the meeting was called to order, State Superintendent Joy Hofmeister presented Certificates of Appreciation to exiting members: Toni Peterson, Tommy Lewis, and Vicki Nelson. Superintendent Hofmeister also lauded absent exiting member Josh Hass for his support as the lay citizen member.

Committee Chair Toni Peterson called the meeting to order at 10:06 a.m.

Michelle Singleton then called the roll.

The committee members that were present:

Jade Benson

April Boatright

Nancy Brewer

Lucianne Copelin

Keely Cox

Joniece LeValley

Tommy Lewis

Vicki Nelson

Toni Peterson

Harley Webb

Rebecca Morales, Designee for State Superintendent Joy Hofmeister

The committee members that were absent:

Josh Hass

Bradley McNutt

David Morstad

Next on the agenda was welcome and introductions. All committee members welcomed new member Jade Benson.

The next item on the agenda was the approval of the minutes for the Nov 6, 2020 meeting. Nancy Brewer made a motion to accept the minutes at 10:02. Keely Cox seconded the motion. A vote was called. Yes-10-April Boatright, Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Joniece LeValley, Tommy Lewis, Vicki Nelson, Toni Peterson, Harley Webb. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was to nominate and approve the 2021 State Textbook Committee Co-Chair. There were a total of two nominations for Nancy Brewer to serve as the Committee Co-Chair. There were no other committee members nominated. Harley Webb made a motion to accept the uncontested nomination for Nancy Brewer as the co-chair of the committee. Keely Cox seconded the motion. A vote was called. Yes-10-April Boatright, Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Joniece LeValley, Tommy Lewis, Vicki Nelson, Toni Peterson, Harley Webb. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was to approve the 2021 bids for substitution.

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt: Vicki Nelson made a motion to approve the substitution bid. Lucianne Copelin seconded the motion. A vote was called. Yes-10-April Boatright, Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Joniece LeValley, Tommy Lewis, Vicki Nelson, Toni Peterson, Harley Webb. No-0 – The motion passed.

MacMillan (BFW): Vicki Nelson stated that grades 6, 7, and 8 were not aligned to the 2020 Oklahoma Academic Standards for Science. Joniece LeValley made a motion to approve the bid for all grade levels. Keely Cox seconded the motion. A vote was called. Yes-10-April Boatright, Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Joniece LeValley, Tommy Lewis, Vicki Nelson, Toni Peterson, Harley Webb. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action of the 2021-22 STC Subject Cycle. STC Secretary Rebecca Morales presented the updated formatting of the 21-22 Subject Cycle document. Nancy Brewer made a motion to approve the 2021-22 STC calendar. Keely Cox seconded the motion. A vote was called. Yes-10-April Boatright, Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Joniece LeValley, Tommy Lewis, Vicki Nelson, Toni Peterson, Harley Webb. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was to review and approve the content-expert review team application. STC Secretary Rebecca Morales presented the application and explained the intent of the items included in the application. The application is for four listed teams: Grades PK-2 English Language Arts (ELA), Grades 3-5 ELA, Grades PK-12 Computer Science, and Grades PK-12 Technology Education. Toni Peterson asked why the ELA teams were in grade

increments and the Computer Science and Technology Education were for all grades. Rebecca Morales explained that the Grades PK-2 were critical to developing foundational reading skills and therefore, indicators of quality varied between the two grade bands. Furthermore, currently, the volume of resources for each content area will be more substantial for ELA in comparison to Computer Science and Technology Education. Finally, the current number of teacher certifications for ELA is significantly greater than the number of teacher certifications for Computer Science and Technology Education so existing available resources are different. April Boatright asked about the number of individuals expected to serve on each team. Rebecca Morales explained it was a minimum of 12 members. April Boatright was concerned about being able to get enough individuals to apply to meet the minimum number of teachers and wanted to know what would happen if there were not enough members. Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill arrived at the virtual meeting as a proxy and explained the Oklahoma State Department of Education anticipated a response volume similar to other review initiatives such as standards revisions or assessment item review. Joniece LeValley made a motion to approve the Content-Expert Review Team application, Keely Cox seconded the motion, Yes-10-April Boatright. Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Joniece LeValley, Tommy Lewis, Vicki Nelson, Toni Peterson, Harley Webb. No-0 – The motion passed.

The last item on the agenda was an adjournment of the March 12, 2021, STC meeting. Vicki Nelson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:02 a.m. Joniece Levalley seconded the motion. A vote was called. Yes-10-April Boatright, Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Joniece LeValley, Tommy Lewis, Vicki Nelson, Toni Peterson, Harley Webb. No-0 – The motion passed.