

MINUTES

of the

OKLAHOMA STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE

December 3, 2021

The Oklahoma State Textbook Committee (STC) held a meeting beginning on December 3, 2021.

State Superintendent and Committee Chair Joy Hofmeister called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Michelle Singleton then called the roll.

The committee members that were present:

Nancy Brewer

Lucianne Copelin

Keely Cox

Olivia Ehle

Kim Ellis

Joniece LeValley

Bradley McNutt

Kathryn Szallar

Superintendent Hofmeister

The committee members that were absent:

April Boatright

Emberly Kincer

Melissa Pearce

The next item on the agenda was approval of the minutes for the July 20-22, 2021 meeting. Kim Ellis made a motion to accept the minutes. Keely Cox seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-9- Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Joniece LeValley, Bradley McNutt, Kathryn Szallar, and Superintendent Hofmeister. No-0 – The motion passed.

Committee member Melissa Pearce arrived at the meeting at 10:05.

The next item on the agenda was presentation of the instructional material reviews for the 2021 adoption cycle by Deputy Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction Tiffany Neill.

The next item on the agenda was discussion and possible action on bids for the 2021 adoption cycle. Brad Clark as the Committee legal counsel explained the Committee's voting options. Brad Clark explained that supplementary materials are defined by the amended statute as instructional materials that are not reviewed by the Committee. Statute also provides options for districts to purchase supplementary materials. Nancy asked if districts would have to have local board approval for purchasing materials that are not Committee-approved. Legal counsel confirmed. Joniece LeValley made a motion to approve all supplementary programs regardless of the rating. Kathryn Szallar seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-10 - Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Joniece LeValley, Bradley McNutt, Melissa Pearce, Kathryn Szallar, and Superintendent Hofmeister. No-0 – The motion passed.

Nancy Brewer made a motion to approve all ratings for comprehensive programs. Keely Cox seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-10 - Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Joniece LeValley, Bradley McNutt, Melissa Pearce, Kathryn Szallar, and Superintendent Hofmeister. No-0 – The motion passed.

Nancy Brewer made a motion to approve all out-of-cycle instructional material bids. Bradley McNutt seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-10 - Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Joniece LeValley, Bradley McNutt, Melissa Pearce, Kathryn Szallar, and Superintendent Hofmeister. No-0 – The motion passed.

Nancy Brewer made a motion to approve the 2022-23 State Textbook Committee Calendar. Keely Cox seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-10 - Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Joniece LeValley, Bradley McNutt, Melissa Pearce, Kathryn Szallar, and Superintendent Hofmeister. No-0 - The motion passed.

The last item on the agenda was adjournment of the December 3, 2021 STC meeting and Publisher Presentations. Joniece LeValley made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:30 a.m. Luci Copelin seconded the motion. Yes-10 - Nancy Brewer, Lucianne Copelin, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Joniece LeValley, Bradley McNutt, Melissa Pearce, Kathryn Szallar, and Superintendent Hofmeister. No-0 – The motion passed.