
 

 

MEMORANDUM 

 

TO: Oklahoma State Board of Education 

FROM: Superintendent Joy Hofmeister 

DATE: March 25, 2021 

SUBJECT: Active education-related bills as of March 19, 2021 

 

Academic Counseling  

HB2399 – Allows students in 11th or 12th grade whose parents became deceased after their 10th 

grade year and whose adoptive parents have a federal adjusted gross income of less than $60,000 

per year, to be eligible for the Oklahoma Higher Learning Access Program (OHLAP), also 

known as Oklahoma’s Promise. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

(New) HB2750 – Requires colleges and universities within the Oklahoma State System of 

Higher Education to grant course credit to students who score a 3 or higher on an Advanced 

Placement exam. Colleges and universities must post their credit policy regarding Advanced 

Placement exams on their websites, beginning with the 2021-2022 fall academic term, and must 

conduct biennial reviews of the policy. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB68 – Allows the children of active duty military personnel to pre-enroll in a local school 

district prior to moving to Oklahoma and be considered in compliance with school residency 

requirements prior to arrival. Effective July 1, 2021. 

  

SB69 – Allows the children of active duty military personnel to pre-enroll in statewide virtual 

charter schools prior to moving to Oklahoma and be considered in compliance with school 

residency requirements prior to arrival. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB132 – Amends the Oklahoma Higher Learning Access Program (OHLAP) to allow 

students in public or private high schools to enroll in the program prior to their eleventh grade 

year, instead of prior to their tenth grade year, or prior to turning 16-years-old if educated by 

other means. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB238 – Creates a taskforce until December 31, 2021 to explore a requirement for high school 

students to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) prior to graduation. 

The nine-member taskforce will be composed of education stakeholders and include the State 

Superintendent of Public Instruction or a designee. Effective July 1, 2021.  

 

SB261 – Creates the Oklahoma Student Borrower’s Bill of Rights Act, directing the Attorney 

General to compose the "Oklahoma Student Borrower's Bill of Rights" for a student loan 

borrower who takes out a student education loan with a student loan servicer. The statement must 

include plain and clear language prohibiting a student loan servicer from engaging in any act that 
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misleads, deceives, or defrauds student borrowers. Loan servicers are also prohibited from 

making false statements or omitting material facts when submitting reports to a governmental 

agency. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

(New) SB292 – Creates a 14-member task force to study and make recommendations regarding 

current and future concurrent enrollment needs of the state and pathways for awarding degrees 

and certificates through concurrent enrollment. Three members of the task force will be school 

district superintendents and must be appointed by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction 

within thirty days of the bill’s effective date. The task force must submit a report of its findings 

to the Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House by 

November 30, 2022 and then dissolve. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB639 – Revises the Oklahoma Higher Learning Access Program (OHLAP) to include awards 

for postsecondary career and technology programs that have been identified as critical 

occupation areas, as identified by the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Department of 

Commerce in recurring annual reports. The State Regents for Higher Education, in consultation 

with the State Board of Career and Technology Education, must identify postsecondary 

vocational-technical programs that correlate to identified critical occupation areas. Additionally, 

beginning in the 2022-2023 academic year, students who receive an OHLAP award to participate 

in the program will have six years to complete the program or be required to repay the full 

amount. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

 

Accountability, Assessments, Student Info 

HB1104 – Requires schools to collect student tribal affiliation data alongside other demographic 

data collected as part of the “Student Data Accessibility, Transparency and Accountability Act of 

2013”. Effective 90 days after Sine Die.  

  

(New) HB1715 – Repeals the requirement that students must pass the 8th grade English 

Language Arts (ELA) test to receive their driver’s permit. Effective upon its passage and 

approval. 

 

HB1875 – Prohibits an educational agency or institution that is not the primary custodian of 

student directory information of attending students from releasing or selling any student 

directory information unless otherwise allowed by the Family Educational Rights and Privacy 

Act (FERPA) or state statute. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

HB2030 – Requires the Oklahoma subject matter standards for history, social studies, and U.S. 

Government to include the study of important historical documents, including the Constitution, 

Declaration of Independence, Emancipation Proclamation, and Federalist Papers; simulations of 

the democratic process; and lessons on the structure and relationship between the levels of 

government. Beginning with the class of 2021, students are required to earn a passing score of 60 

out of 100 questions on the United States naturalization test to graduate high school. School 

districts must offer the test at least once per year. Students with disabilities who are assessed 

through the Oklahoma Alternate Assessment Program (OAAP) are exempt from the requirement. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 
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(New) HB2381 – Requires school districts to conduct an annual fitness assessment for students 

in grades 3-12, as approved by the State Board of Education beginning with the 2022-2023 

school year. Requires the State Board to adopt standards deemed appropriate to measure a 

student’s physical fitness and requires the Department of Education to adopt an assessment 

instrument that measures student aerobic capacity, body composition, muscular strength, 

endurance, and flexibility. Districts must provide overall results of the assessment to the Board 

and the results for individual students to the parent or guardian. Requires the Departments of 

Education and Health to analyze these performance results and look for correlations with other 

specified outcomes on a district basis and submit a report to the Governor. Effective 90 days 

after Sine Die. 

 

(New) SB419 – Allows a teacher to use a student’s highest score on the statewide U.S. history 

assessment in calculating the final grade of an applicable social studies, history or citizenship 

skills unit taken in the same year the assessment is administered, beginning in the 2021-2022 

school year. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB503 – Requires the Oklahoma subject matter standards for history, social studies and 

U.S. government to include the Declaration of Independence, the U.S. Constitution including the 

Bill of Rights, substantive selections from the Federalist Papers, the Emancipation Proclamation, 

the Articles of Confederation, the Gettysburg Address, and George Washington’s Farewell 

Address. The statewide U.S. history assessment must include multiple questions containing 

fundamental principles of these historical documents. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB642 – Requires school districts to provide all students grades 10 through 12 an 

opportunity to take the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) Test and consult 

with a military recruiter beginning in the 2021-2022 school year. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

 

Certification, Retirement 

HB1773 – Requires teacher candidates in early childhood, elementary, secondary, and special 

education, as part of their competency-based teacher preparation program, to study the 

background and implementation of multi-tiered systems of support (MTSS) designed to address 

the core academic and nonacademic needs of all students. Candidates will receive grade-

appropriate training on applying MTSS in the areas of structured literacy, mathematics, 

classroom management, and trauma-informed instruction at a minimum. Effective November 1, 

2021. 

  

HB1796 – Allows the State Board of Education, in consultation with the Commission for 

Education Quality and Accountability, to grant subject area examination exceptions for initial 

teacher certification in a field that does not require an advanced degree if the candidate already 

has an advanced degree in the subject substantially comparable to the content assessed in the 

examination. This exception currently only exists for alternatively certified teachers. Effective 

upon its passage and approval. 

   

HB2693 – Requires the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability (OEQA) to select up to 

300 teachers seeking to renew their National Board Certification each year, and to pay for a 

portion of their renewal application fee not to exceed $750. Requires OEQA, rather than the 

State Board of Education, to provide the $5,000 annual bonus to teachers who attain National 
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Board certification, for the duration of certification. This reestablishes the National Board 

Certification bonus as it existed prior to being eliminated in 2013. Lastly, the National Board 

Certification category is eliminated from the teacher salary schedule. Effective November 1, 

2021. 

  

HB2748 – Requires the State Board of Education to issue a one-year alternative teacher 

certificate, renewable for up to three years, to early childhood or elementary education 

candidates who declare their intention to earn standard certification within three years. 

Candidates may enter the classroom immediately as they work toward full certification provided 

they meet certain benchmarks each year which include completing credit hours and receiving 

instructional coaching in the areas of reading, classroom management, child development, and 

math instruction. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

(New) HB2752 – Requires the State Department of Education, in coordination with the 

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability (OEQA), to establish a micro-credential 

program for teachers and teaching candidates to earn microcredentials in science, technology, 

engineering and mathematics (STEM) endorsement areas including computer science, upon the 

completion of additional coursework. The Department and OEQA will convene a working group 

with “pertinent education stakeholders” to determine eligible uses for STEM microcredentials, 

including add-on endorsements for teachers in STEM endorsement areas such as computer 

science, and satisfying the requirements for the OSAT examination and professional 

development. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

HB2329 / SB67 – Allows the State Board of Education to grant an exception to the requirements 

for all certification examinations to deaf teachers who are fluent in American Sign Language 

(ASL) and who will be teaching exclusively in settings requiring the use of ASL. Effective July 

1, 2021. 
  

(New) SB13 – Requires a teacher whose certificate is suspended by the State Board of Education 

to be placed on suspension while proceedings for revocation or other action are pending before 

the Board. These actions do not preclude the initiation of due process procedures under the 

Teacher Due Process Act. Effective July 1, 2021. 
 

(New) SB51 – Removes the requirement for alternatively and traditionally certified teachers to 

pass the general education portions of competency examinations to become certified. Effective 

July 1, 2021. 
 

(New) SB229 – Allows the State Board of Education to renew a teacher’s emergency or 

provisional certificate for up to 5 years if the teacher maintains a district evaluation rating of 

“effective” or higher under the Teacher and Leader Effectiveness Evaluation System and 

satisfies the existing requirements for renewal of provisional certificates. Allows districts to 

employ such emergency or provisionally certified staff via temporary contracts beyond the 

current four-semester limit. Effective July 1, 2021. 
 
 

Children, Families, Students 

HB1002 – Eliminates the statute of limitations for civil action against individuals accused of 

childhood sexual abuse, while lengthening the same statute of limitations for corporate entities 
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and organizations to 30 years. The measure allows a five-year window for the filing of 

retroactive claims for childhood sexual abuse for those persons who were previously barred from 

filing due to the time limitation. The revival of a claim does not apply to any claim that has been 

litigated to finality; or to any written settlement agreement which has been entered into between 

the plaintiff and defendant. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

(New) HB1882 – Creates the “Out-of-Schooltime Task Force”, directed to identify ways to 

increase and improve the number of quality, affordable out-of-school programs in the state and 

report findings to the Oklahoma Legislature and Governor by December 1, 2022. The State 

Superintendent of Public Instruction has a seat on the task force and two appointments. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB126 – Amends the Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarship for Students with Disabilities 

Program by clarifying that participating private schools must prohibit discrimination on the basis 

of race, color and national origin. The scholarship program is expanded to include children 

placed in a guardianship or kinship foster home and the requirement that students spend the prior 

school year in attendance at a public school in this state before applying is removed. Effective 

July 1, 2021. 

 

 
Curriculum 

(New) HB1569 – Creates the Oklahoma Play to Learn Act, allowing early childhood educators 

to employ play-based learning techniques and school districts to provide related professional 

development. States school districts may not prohibit a teacher from using play-based learning in 

early childhood education. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

 

(New) HB2727 – Allows “Adulting 101” to be taught as an elective class in public schools 

subject to the availability of funding. Instruction may include information on various topics 

including cooking, automobile maintenance, applying and interviewing for jobs, basic financial 

skills, career pathways, and stress management and may be taught in grades 6-12. Schools may 

incorporate the curriculum into existing courses and partner with nonprofits, the career and 

technology system, or other programs approved by the State Department of Education. Lastly, 

the Department may develop rules to oversee these provisions. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB89 – Creates the Health Education Act, requiring that all PK-12 students receive 

instruction on the Oklahoma Health Academic Standards beginning in the 2023-2024 school 

year. Directs the Department to develop a micro-credential for teachers assigned the 

responsibility of teaching health education and to create professional development programs to 

help teachers provide health education instruction. Teachers providing stand-alone health 

education courses must be certified in physical or health education and the Department may issue 

2-year provisional certificates in this area. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB252 – Requires all public high schools to offer a minimum of one grade-appropriate computer 

science course to students each year. All public middle and elementary schools must offer 

instruction aligned to the Oklahoma Academic Standards for Computer Science, which may be 

offered through a stand-alone course or within an existing course. These requirements are to take 

effect beginning in the 2024-2025 school year. Starting June 30, 2025, each school district will 
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submit an annual report to OSDE regarding the computer science courses offered. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 

  

SB784 – Permits the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) develop a 

statewide law enforcement and public safety youth program designed for high school students. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

  

Charter Schools 

(New) HB2755 – Requires a sponsoring school district to provide any sponsored charter 

school(s) the opportunity to submit capital projects for inclusion in any bond proposal submitted 

by the district and ensure the value of the projects is proportional to the charter’s enrollment. 

Any property purchased for the charter’s capital projects will be owned by the issuing school 

district, unless the charter operates within the physical boundaries of the sponsor. Upon ceasing 

operations, the charter’s bond-purchased property will default to the sponsoring school district. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

SB239 – Requires the Department of Education to determine if it has the financial and personnel 

resources to support a new charter school before the State Board approves a charter school 

sponsorship upon appeal. Requires the Board to allow the applicant and denying school district 

sponsor to appear with an attorney at any hearing before the Board. If the Board determines that 

the applicant complied with all of the applicable requirements for approval by the local board, 

that there is demonstrable local community support, and the local board should have accepted the 

proposal, the Board may choose to sponsor the charter school. Establishes a formal timeline for 

appeals to the Board, requiring the applicant to file an appeal within 30 days of denial and the 

Board to hold a hearing for final determination within 60 days of receiving the appeal. Effective 

July 1, 2021. 

  

  

Employment, Personnel, Compensation 

HB1876 – Clarifies that personal information of current and former public employees including 

home addresses, home phone numbers, Social Security numbers, private email addresses and 

mobile numbers are not open to public inspection or disclosure, with the exception of public 

records created using a private email address or mobile phone. Effective November 1, 2021. 
  

SB121 – Requires local boards of education to adopt a policy allowing school employees who 

are lactating to take paid break time to maintain their milk supply and comfort. This break time 

may run concurrently with any break time already provided to the employee and the board must 

make a reasonable effort to provide a private, sanitary room for expressing milk or breastfeeding. 

Effective July 1, 2021. 

  

SB267 – Beginning July 1, 2021 a retired teacher may return as a classroom teacher with no 

earnings limitation provided they have been retired for at least one year and have not been 

employed at a school district during that time. The bill’s provisions expire after three years. 

Effective 90 days after Sine Die. 

  

SB683 – Retroactively removes the requirement that full-time non-classified optional personnel 

be regularly employed for more than one year to participate in the Oklahoma Teachers 

http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=SB784&Session=2100
http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=hb2755&Session=2100
http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=sb239&Session=2100
http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=hb1876&Session=2100
http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=sb121&Session=2100
http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=sb267&Session=2100
http://www.oklegislature.gov/BillInfo.aspx?Bill=sb683&Session=2100


 

 

Retirement System (OTRS) from August 2, 1969 through the bill’s effective date. Upon the 

effective date, current personnel who are regularly employed for at least 20 hours per week will 

have thirty days to opt out of the System or be enrolled automatically. The option for 

membership and the ensuing thirty-day opt out window will also apply to all eligible new hires. 

Effective 90 days after Sine Die. 

   

(New) SB807 – Requires that school support employees be entitled to pay for any time lost when 

a school district is closed due to an epidemic or order issued by an authorized health officer. 

Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB970 – Exempts any portion of any document or information provided to a state agency or 

entity for use in providing a license or certificate to an individual from being considered a 

“record” under the Oklahoma Open Records Act. Allows a public body to release personnel 

records at the body’s sole discretion, provided, identifying information relating to the occupants 

of any residential structure and email addresses are redacted in addition to existing protections. 

Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

  

Funding, Budget 

HB1968 – Eliminates duplicative annual school expenditures report for Gifted and Talented 

(GT) programs that must be provided to OSDE by August 1. Effective upon its passage and 

approval. 

   

HB2078 – Revises the calculation of Oklahoma’s school funding formula beginning with the 

2022-2023 school year, requiring that Initial State Aid be allocated based on the weighted 

average daily membership (WADM) from the preceding school year rather than the higher of the 

prior two years. Requires that the mid-year adjustment be allocated based on either the WADM 

of the first nine weeks of the current school year, or the WADM of the preceding school year, 

whichever is higher, rather than the highest WADM of the current or prior two school years. 

Lastly, the allowable percentages of general fund carryover are increased from between three and 

eight percent, depending on the general fund collections of the district, and excess carryover 

penalties for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 are waived. The bill’s provisions are contingent on the 

enactment of either H.B. 2074 or S.B. 783. Effective July 1, 2022. 

  

(New) HB2083 – Creates a five-year schedule to progressively reduce to zero Oklahoma taxable 

income for the calculation of corporate income tax for certain local and foreign corporations by 

20 percent each year, beginning in January 2022. Outlines the Legislature’s intent to make 

modifications to offset potential revenue losses and to ensure that revenues to the Education 

Reform Revolving (HB 1017) Fund, the Teachers’ Retirement System, and the Ad Valorem 

Reimbursement Fund are not adversely affected. Estimated to decrease income tax collections by 

$32.3 million and $99.9 million in fiscal years 2022 and 2023 respectively. Effective January 1, 

2022. 

 

(New) HB2776 – Creates the “Protecting Revenues for Oklahoma Teachers, Educators and 

Students (PROTEST) Fund” consisting of ad valorem funds under protest and monies from the 

Ad Valorem Reimbursement Fund. Directs the Department of Education to accept claims from 

school districts affected by protested ad valorem taxes and disburse funds to the local school 

board. Upon settlement and dispersal of protested ad valorem dollars, the receiving school board 
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must reimburse the Fund. For the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, the first $5 million in the Ad 

Valorem Reimbursement Fund will be apportioned to the PROTEST Fund, with subsequent 

annual appropriations to maintain a balance of $5 million. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

 

Professional Development 

HB1593 – Revises the frequency for certain professional development requirements including 

training on the importance of digital teaching and learning standards, recognizing and addressing 

the mental health needs of students, emphasizing the importance of incorporating workplace 

safety training into curriculum, and in-service training on alcohol and drug abuse. Each training 

program must be completed during a teacher’s first year of employment at a district and be 

retaken at specified intervals. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

HB2749 – Requires school districts receiving more than $2,500 in Reading Sufficiency Act 

(RSA) appropriations, to spend a minimum of 10% of those funds on professional development 

on the Science of Reading for pre-k through fifth grade teachers beginning in the 2022-2023 

school year. The professional development must include training on the cognitive science of how 

students learn to read, and be selected from an approved list of evidence-based programs 

compiled by the State Department of Education prior to June 30, 2022. Effective 90 days after 

Sine Die.  

  

 
School Boards 

(New) HB1046 – Requires each school district to post a copy or hyperlink of the most recent 

financial audit on the front page of its website. Effective November 1, 2021. 
 

HB1775 – Expands the requirements for “Riley’s Rule”, requiring local school boards to 

coordinate with local emergency medical service providers in developing an Emergency Action 

Plan for each athletic practice, event or activity held at school district facilities. The plan must 

include contact, directory and map information for emergency medical services, a designated 

medical administrator, be provided to all school athletics and events staff, specify evaluation and 

debriefing procedures following an emergency, and be updated and rehearsed annually. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 

   

HB1963 – Requires the Governor to make a temporary appointment for a local school board 

should the board ever have insufficient membership to attain a quorum and conduct business. 

Effective November 1, 2021.  

  

HB2335 – Prohibits any government entity from mandating vaccination of the general public, 

other than vaccines already required for enrollment in schools as required by state law. 

Government entities, including state or local officials, any political subdivision, and any agency, 

board, commission, or council with rule-making authority, are prohibited from discriminating 

against or penalizing any member of the general public who declines to vaccinate themselves or 

their children. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

(New) HB2588 – Allows local school boards to authorize school staff possessing a handgun 

license and having demonstrated proficiency in handgun and campus-specific active shooter 

training to carry a handgun on school property. To be eligible, an employee must successfully 
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complete four hours of weapon retention training certified by the Council on Law Enforcement 

Education and Training (CLEET) and four hours of campus-specific active shooter training as 

determined by the appropriate local law enforcement agency. The above training is to be 

conducted biannually. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB22 – Requires a local school board electing to dispose of real or personal property 

under lease to provide the right of first refusal to purchase the property to the current lessee. If 

the board receives an offer for the property, it must provide notice to the current lessee, allowing 

thirty days after receipt of the notice to inform the board whether the lessee will purchase the 

property on the same terms and conditions in the notice, provided any non-cash consideration 

may be paid in cash at fair market value. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB222 – Amends the definition of “bullying” to include behavior that is unwanted, 

aggressive, involves a power imbalance and is repeated. Requires local school boards to update 

existing discipline and bullying policies annually and specifies that policies contain a broader 

reporting structure for incidents of bullying, protections for anyone reporting bullying in good 

faith, required notification of parents of an identified bullying victim within twenty-four hours of 

an initial report, or immediately in instances where suicidal ideation is suspected. The policy 

must be developed with input from stakeholders and community members and the district must 

provide a report to the school board on bullying prevention activities and reported incidents each 

semester. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

(New) SB403 – Makes it unlawful for any person(s) to interfere with or disrupt the business or 

public meetings of a political subdivision. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

 

SB619 – Permits the governing body of any school to obtain liability insurance coverage to 

protect a student who participates in an apprenticeship, internship or mentorship program. 

Prohibits schools from charging the student or parent for the cost of providing insurance. 

Requires the State Board of Education to review apprenticeships, internships and mentorships to 

determine if they are eligible for academic credit toward graduation. Effective July 1, 2021. 

  

SB658 – Requires the State Department of Education to provide and ensure every school district 

details the state’s vaccination requirements for enrollment, including the possibility for 

exemption, in addition to contact information for the State Department of Health, on the district’s 

website and any vaccine-related publication or notice. Effective July 1, 2021. 

   

SB1032 – Makes permanent additions to the Open Meetings Act requiring all public bodies that 

maintain a website and utilize a high-speed internet connection, to stream all meetings on the 

website and post meeting recordings after concluding, if such actions are practicable. Also 

authorizes any public body headquartered in a county subject to a declared state of emergency to 

meet via teleconference or videoconference, with all related requirements and exemptions 

applicable to public bodies statewide under the COVID-19 emergency. Effective upon its 

passage and approval. 

  

 
School Sites 

HB2074 / SB783 – Enacts significant reforms to Oklahoma’s school transfer statutes, namely, 

revising the guidelines for accepting and denying student transfers, limiting students to a 
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maximum of two out-of-district transfers per school year, requiring school districts to list 

enrollment capacities on their websites and to report transfer approvals and denials to the State 

Department of Education, which must in turn post the information on its website and share it 

with OEQA. The bill creates a two-level appeal process for transfer denials, beginning with local 

school boards and ending with the State Board of Education. Lastly, the state’s emergency 

transfer law is repealed. The bill’s provisions are contingent on the enactment of H.B. 2078. The 

revised transfer provisions and requirements will take effect beginning on January 1, 2022. 

Effective upon its passage and approval. 

  

HB2662 / SB128 – Creates the Seizure-Safe Schools Act, requiring each school site with a 

student who is known to have a seizure disorder, to have at least one employee who has training 

to administer or assist with self-administration of seizure medication and recognize symptoms of 

seizures and take steps to respond by Jan. 1, 2022. The State Board of Education may develop 

rules to assist in the development and implementation of the program. Lastly, school employees 

who take actions in compliance with the act are exempt from disciplinary proceedings and will 

have immunity from civil liability. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

  

SB54 – Requires the State Department of Education to designate a school district or individual 

campus as a Purple Star Campus if the school or district applies for the designation and agrees to 

provide certain services benefiting military-connected students and their families, in addition to 

offering related professional development for staff. Effective November 1, 2021. 
 

SB1033 – Clarifies that a retail marijuana dispensary established on or after November 1, 2019 

will not be in jeopardy of losing its license in the event that a school building came to be located 

within 1,000 feet of the dispensary at a later date. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

  

State Board/Dept. of Education 

HB1018 – Repeals the required publication and distribution of the biennial school laws book by 

the State Department of Education. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

HB1090 – Permits the State Auditor and Inspector and the Auditor’s Performance Audit 

Division, to examine books and accounts of public officers and other governmental entities 

independent of a request by the Governor, a government entity’s CEO, or a concurrent resolution 

of the Legislature. Effective July 1, 2021. 

   

HB2223 – Requires the State Department of Education to maintain the dyslexia handbook 

created by the Dyslexia and Education Taskforce by making revisions and additions as 

recommended by stakeholders every three years. The Department must consult with each 

member of the original task force, if available, during the revision process. Any revisions must 

include, but are not limited to, specified criteria for assisting school districts in screening for 

dyslexia and educating students who have dyslexia. Effective November 1, 2021. 

   

HB2462 – Reauthorizes the State Department of Education to enter into contracts and 

agreements for expenses necessary to host, or participate in, conferences or training sessions. 

Enables the Department to create accounts for the collection and distribution of funds from 

sponsors or registration fees related to conferences and training sessions. Effective upon its 

passage and approval. 
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HB2932 – Prohibits any agency or other entity organized within the executive branch from using 

federal funds from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act in a way 

that will, or will be likely to increase the demand for state-appropriated funds without the express 

authorization of the state Legislature, beginning in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, and 

every following fiscal year. These requirements also apply to any federal funds allocated by an 

act of Congress or federal agency rules authorized by the federal government on or after 

December 1, 2020. Effective upon its passage and approval. 

   

(New) SB585 – Expands the definition of willful or habitual neglect of duty, for which a state 

officer may be removed from office to include knowingly giving false testimony to a legislative 

committee, knowingly engaging in operations beyond the constitutional or statutory authority 

delegated to the officer’s agency, or repeatedly refusing to provide information to a legislative 

committee or legislator in a timely manner. For the purposes of the bill, “timely manner” means 

no more than fifteen (15) business days from the date the request for information was received, 

unless extended by written agreement. Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

(New) SB895 – Authorizes the director of a state agency to choose a public or certified public 

accountant, selected according to existing procedures, to conduct regular audits in lieu of the 

State Auditor and Inspector. The agency director may ask the State Auditor for a cost estimate of 

the audit to help in the selection process and must notify the State Auditor of the decision to use 

the alternative audit procedure.  Any alternative audit report must be submitted to OMES by 

October 15 for the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report. Effective November 1, 2021. 

   

(New) SB913 – Enacts comprehensive reforms to the Administrative Procedures Act, namely, by 

changing the mechanisms for the approval, disapproval, and repeal of administrative rules, and 

creating the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules. Requires agencies to submit all rule 

proposals to the Committee for approval prior to the rules being eligible for final approval by the 

Legislature, which is no longer required to approve all rules in a single Joint Resolution. 

Additionally, agencies must submit proposed changes to the Governor and the appropriate 

cabinet secretary as part of providing official notice and may not proceed with any rule change 

upon express written disapproval by the Governor or secretary within 30 days of the notice. 

Lastly, a procedure for expedited repeal of rules is created, allowing agencies to submit a request 

for repeal to the President Pro Tempore and Speaker of the House, who may refer the request to 

the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules for consideration. Effective September 1, 2021. 

 

 

Trauma-Informed/Mental Health 

HB1027 – Requires the State Board of Education and Department of Mental Health and 

Substance Abuse Services (ODMHSAS), in consultation with school superintendents, to develop 

and offer training for school employees on violence de-escalation, in addition to existing training 

addressing student mental health. The training will include information concerning trauma-

informed teaching, self-regulation practices for students and staff, and trauma-informed response 

protocols for addressing behavior with a positive and compassionate approach. Effective 

November 1, 2021. 

  

HB1103 – Requires public schools to administer the Oklahoma Prevention Needs Assessment 

(OPNA) survey every two years beginning in the 2022-2023 school year, for the purpose of 
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improving student mental health and substance abuse outcomes. Requires ODMHSAS to assist 

in administering the survey, maintain all collected data, and develop a waiver process allowing 

schools to administer an alternate assessment to meet the requirement. Effective November 1, 

2021. 

  

(New) HB1568 – Creates Maria’s Law, requiring the State Board of Education to mandate that 

all schools provide instruction in mental health, emphasizing the interrelation between physical 

and mental well-being, beginning with the 2022-2023 school year. Requires the Board to 

collaborate with ODMHSAS to adopt and approve age-appropriate curriculum for students in 

grades K-12, with the related standards and curriculum to be posted on the State Department of 

Education website. Additionally, local school districts may enter inter agreements with 

nonprofits and other community partners to provide this education to students. Directs the Board 

to develop rules to implement the provisions. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

(New) HB2388 – Allows school districts to provide age-appropriate instruction on social-

emotional learning, beginning with the 2022-2023 school year. “Social emotional learning” is 

defined as the process through which children and adults manage emotions, set and achieve 

positive goals, feel and show empathy, maintain positive relationships, and make responsible 

decisions. The State Department of Education may create or offer accurate instructional 

materials on social-emotional learning on the Department’s website, with districts retaining the 

right to create or implement their own instructional materials. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB2396 – Permits local school boards to adopt a policy regarding sex trafficking awareness and 

education programs, provide prevention and awareness education to staff, parents, and students 

in grades 7-12, partner with nonprofits specializing in this area, and offer a two-hour sex 

trafficking prevention and awareness program to students, beginning with the 2022-2023 school 

year.  Effective November 1, 2021. 

  

SB21 – Requires, rather than permits, local boards of education to adopt a policy regarding 

district-wide suicide awareness training for staff and reporting student drug abuse, beginning in 

the 2021-2022 school year. Districts may provide suicide awareness training to students grade 7-

12 beginning in the 2022-2023 school year. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

 

Failed Deadline 

HB1836 – Requires the State Department of Education (OSDE) to develop a system for coding 

initial teacher certifications, including emergency certification, to allow for reporting data on 

initial certification pathways, and creates the Data Governance Council to monitor, evaluate, and 

make recommendations regarding the state’s certification pathways based on OSDE reports. The 

Council will be composed of numerous education agency directors or their designees, including 

the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Chancellor of the Oklahoma State Regents for 

Higher Education, Executive Director of the Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 

among other education stakeholders. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB2361 – Adds habitual absence from minimum required training events to the list of causes for 

which an appointed state officer may be removed from office. Requires removal from office to 

follow the procedures established for removing elected and unelected officials, impaneling a 
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grand jury to indict a public official, or removing a political subdivision officer by order of the 

Attorney General and the Oklahoma Supreme Court. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

HB2655 – Requires that general elections for members of local school and technology center 

boards of education to be conducted beginning the first Tuesday of November 2022, and on the 

general election date every two years thereafter. Elected members serving a term on Nov. 1, 

2022, will be re-elected on Nov. 1, 2022 and those whose terms expire before the next 

succeeding general election will be elected. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

SB142 – Permits a local board of education to accept students from a bordering, out-of-state 

district without charging tuition if the school district does not receive State Aid funds and has a 

per-pupil expenditure above the state average. Such out-of-state students will be ineligible for 

State Aid, and no local funds from the student’s out-of-state resident district may be transferred 

to the receiving district. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB157 – Repeals language stating that appointed members of the State Board of Education shall 

serve at the pleasure of the Governor and provides a list of eligible causes for a member’s 

removal by the Governor. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB197 – Requires school and technology board member candidates who receive over 50% of the 

vote to be seated at the next board meeting following the April primary election. Effective July 1, 

2021. 

 

SB437 – Requires, rather than permits, school districts to provide remediation courses to high 

school students who score below the benchmarks on subject-area portions of the ACT or below 

equivalent scores on the SAT, beginning in the 2021-22 school year. States that provided 

remediation may include extended instructional time, summer academies, tutoring, online 

coursework, repetition of any course that corresponds to a subject area in which the student 

scored below the benchmark, and other supplementary services. The State Board of Education 

may adopt rules to implement these changes. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB670 – Designates the purchase or possession of methamphetamine, heroin, cocaine or fentanyl 

within 1,000 feet of a school as a felony, punishable by up to five years in prison. These 

provisions will not apply to any person who is younger than eighteen years old, is enrolled as a 

full-time student at the school in question, or who was requested to enter the prohibited distance 

as part of a routine traffic stop. Effective November 1, 2021. 

 

SB707 – Allows parents thirty days after the first day of the school year to provide certification 

that a child received required immunization treatments or a certificate of exemption. If the parent 

does not present either certificate within the 30-day period, the child will not be admitted into the 

school until the parent or legal guardian provides the required documents. Effective July 1, 2021. 

 

SB749 – Creates a recurring annual fee of $1.00 per kilowatt of total nameplate generating 

capacity for commercial wind equipment beginning January 1, 2022, with all related fees and 

penalty interest to be deposited in the State Department of Education’s Education Reform 

Revolving (1017) Fund. The fee is estimated to generate $8,749,600 for the 1017 Fund in Fiscal 

Year 2022. Effective November 1, 2021. 
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