

## MINUTES

## of the

## **OKLAHOMA STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE**

June 3, 2022

The Oklahoma State Textbook Committee (STC) held a regular meeting beginning on June 3, 2022.

Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill as proxy for Committee Chair Joy Hofmeister called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. and requested confirmation of compliance with Open Meeting Act. Rebecca Morales confirmed compliance

Shanda Finnell then called the roll and confirmed quorum.

The committee members that were present:

Lucianne Copelin Sonya Covalt Keely Cox Olivia Ehle Kim Ellis Teresa Gerber Joniece LeValley Kathryn Szallar Kathryn Yarbrough Tiffany Neill

The committee member absent: Melissa Pearce

Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill welcomed the newly appointed members, Teresa Gerber, Sonya Covalt, and Kathryn Yarbrough. Each member briefly introduced themselves.

The next item on the agenda was approval of the minutes for the regular December 3, 2021 meeting. Joniece LeValley made a motion to accept the minutes. Keely Cox seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-10-,

Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was approval of the minutes for the February 18, 2022 regular meeting. Kathryn Szallar made a motion to accept the minutes. Lucianne Copelin seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-10-, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was approval of the minutes for the March 24, 2022 special meeting. Deputy Superintendent Tiffany Neill explained there was an amended grammatical correction needed to improve the clarity of those minutes. Joniece LeValley made a motion to accept the minutes with the grammatical correction. Keely Cox seconded the motion. Vote was called. Yes-10-, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.

The next item on the agenda was a presentation from Assistant General Counsel, Lori Murphy on the Open Meeting Act and Ethics Presentation. At the end of the presentation, Lori Murphy asked the Committee if there were any questions. The Committee did not have any questions.

The next item on the agenda was Shanda Finnell, Oklahoma State Department of Education administrative assistant, explaining to the Committee the documents in the folder represent the documents that will be emailed to each member for travel reimbursement related to State Textbook Committee meetings. Members complete a W-9 Vendor Form once every year and the remaining documents are required for each meeting.

The last item on the agenda was adjournment of the June 3, 2022 STC meeting. Kim Ellis made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 10:54 a.m. Joniece LeValley seconded the motion. Yes-10-, Lucianne Copelin, Sonya Covalt, Keely Cox, Olivia Ehle, Kim Ellis, Teresa Gerber, Joniece LeValley, Kathryn Szallar, Kathryn Yarbrough, and Deputy Superintendent Neill. No-0 – The motion passed.