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* Employees Group Insurance Division (EGID), a Division of the Office of Management and Enterprise
Services (OMES) for the State of Oklahoma rules and regulations require four (4) hours a day or 20 hours
a week to be eligible to participate in a district's group health insurance plan. If certified staff member
does not work a 20-hour week or chooses to not participate in the insurance benefit plan, they will
receive the "In Lieu of FBA" (Taxable Compensation) benefit amount of $69.71 monthly. If an employee
works for more than one district, only one district shall pay the benefit.

Flexible Benefit Allowance (FBA) 
Commonly asked Questions 

What are the FBA amounts? 

FY2025 July 2024 through June 2025 July-December January-June 

Certified: FBA (Taking Health Insurance) $ 679.62 $ 707.00 

In Lieu of FBA (Taxable Compensation) $69.71 $69.71 

Support: FBA (Taking Health Insurance) $ 679.62 $ 707.00 

In Lieu of FBA (Taxable Compensation) $189.69 $189.69 

Do the amounts change or are they constant? 

The FBA for personnel who take health insurance changes when the insurance 
premium changes at the start of a new plan year. The HealthChoice high option will 
continue to be $679.62 through December 2024, rate changes to $707.00 in 
January 2025 through the remaining 2025 plan year. The In Lieu of FBA is constant 
until the Legislature changes what is in law. 

How many hours are required to be eligible for FBA/In Lieu of 
FBA? 

* 
Certified: A head count is taken of all certified personnel as identified on the "Oklahoma 
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Support: Only support personnel employed a minimum of six (6) or more hours per day 
who hold a "position" that is defined as a minimum of 172 days or a minimum of six (6) 
or more hours per day for a minimum of one thousand thirty-two (1,032) hours per year 
are eligible. 

How many times a year do we report the FBA count to the 
State Department of Education (SDE)? 

The district will report an October 1 count and a January 1 count. The Regional 
Accreditation Officers (RAO) will then audit each district's personnel/payroll information 
twice a year and forward the audited counts to the SDE. 

If current year data is not collected until October of each 
year, how do you figure our initial allocation? 

Your initial allocation is calculated using the audited January 1 count from the previous 
fiscal year. In November, we will adjust the allocation to current year data with the 
second part of the allocation calculated at the "new" HealthChoice premium. After we 
receive the January count, we adjust your allocation again to show the October 
personnel that have made a change: taxable compensation or health insurance. 

How do we count/report and provide FBA benefits to eligible 
employees (certified and support) working for several 
districts? 

Employees working in more than one district shall only be counted and provided the 
state FBA benefit (insurance or taxable compensation) under one district identified as 
their Legal Education Agency (LEA). 

Do we still have to pay 100% of a teacher's insurance 
premium if the district is not receiving FBA from the state? 

Yes, according to Title 74, Section 1310.1, a district shall pay 100% of the cost of 
HealthChoice (HI) option for certified staff. This is an obligation of the district and is not 
dependent upon funding from the SDE (AG Op. No. 03-15). 

Annual Certified Personnel Report" (excluding Superintendents). 
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Will the district have to pay for insurance on support 
personnel who do not work six (6) hours a day? 

Employees Group Insurance Division (EGID) requires four (4) hours a day or 20 hours a 
week to be eligible for a district's group insurance plan. If a support employee meets 
those required hours yet does not meet the required hours for the FBA, a district is still 
obligated to cover 50% of the health insurance premium. (Title 74, Section 1310.2) 

Are retired employees still eligible for the FBA benefit? 

Yes, they are eligible for the benefit. If they meet EGID's required hours, * they are 
eligible to take insurance through the district's group insurance plan and receive the 
larger FBA benefit ($679.62/$707.00). If they continue to pay for their insurance 
through Teacher Retirement, they are still eligible for the In Lieu of FBA benefit of 
$69.71 or $189.69 if the employee is employed in a full-time support position. 


