Personal Financial Literacy Frequently Asked Questions
(FAQs)

Passport to Financial Literacy Act of 2007
Title 70 O.S. § 11-103.6h
and the
Oklahoma Administrative Code
210:35-9-31.2.F

Section 1: Student Requirements

1. What does the law require of students?
The law, Passport to Financial Literacy Act of 2007 (70 O.S. § 11-103.6h), requires each student
to take and demonstrate a “satisfactory knowledge level” of each of the 14 Areas of Instruction
for personal financial literacy in order to gain their Passport to Financial Literacy, which is
required “in order to graduate from an public high school accredited by the State Board of
Education with a standard diploma.” The student can meet this graduation requirement
anytime between grades 7-12, depending on the district’s scope and sequence for personal
financial literacy.

2. What are the 14 Areas of Instruction?
The 14 areas of instruction are:

Importance of earning an income and budgeting
Impact of local, state, and federal taxes upon income and standard of living
Functions and use of banks and financial services
Balancing a checkbook and financial accounts
Saving and investing
Planning for retirement
Procedures and responsibilities of borrowing money
Interest, credit card, and online commerce
Consumer fraud and identity theft

. Responsibilities of renting versus buying a home

. Understanding insurance and risk management

. Financial impact and consequences of gambling

. Consequences of bankruptcy

. Charitable giving
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3. What are the requirements for a Passport to Financial Literacy?
The requirements for a personal financial literacy passport shall be satisfactory completion in all
14 areas of instruction in personal financial literacy (as listed in question 2 above) during grades
seven through twelve.



4. What does “satisfactory knowledge level” mean?
Basic competency is defined as demonstration of knowledge of personal financial literacy in
each of the 14 areas of instruction. The local district determines what the minimum criteria are
for a student to demonstrate “satisfactory knowledge level.” This should be represented by a
letter grade and/or percent. If a student takes the online secure assessment(s) developed by
the State Department of Education, satisfactory knowledge level has been set at 70 percent.

5. Can astudent “test out” of personal financial literacy?
Yes. A student may test out of personal financial literacy through a district-created
assessment(s) for the 14 areas of instruction or the State Department of Education’s online
curriculum modules which offer secure Web-based assessments. The “satisfactory knowledge
level” has been set at 70 percent for any use of the online assessment(s) from the State
Department of Education.

6. What about modifications for students on IEPs, ELL students, and multi-handicapped
students?

All fourteen of the PFL standards must be taught to all students, as a part of high school
graduation requirements. These standards of learning are priority, essential, and necessary for
all Oklahoma students. Learning the ideas, concepts, knowledge, and skills will enable students
to implement personal financial decision making skills; to become wise and knowledgeable
consumers, savers, investors, users of credit, money managers, and to be participating
members of a global workforce and society. House Bill 1268 has included language for students
with the most significant cognitive disabilities (MSCD) and English Language Learners (ELL) to
assist students in meeting the Personal Financial Literacy (PFL) graduation requirement. The
changes will become effective July 1, 2015. In an effort to assist school districts in meeting the
new requirements, we have included information to guide educators in providing appropriate
instruction to meet the individual students learning needs as addressed by the IEP/LIEP team.
A link to this guide has been provided below.

http://ok.gov/sde/sites/ok.gov.sde/files/documents/files/PFLGuide-
StudentsWithDisabilitiesAndELL.pdf

Section 2: District Requirements

1. What does the law require of the districts and schools?
School districts shall provide instruction in personal financial literacy to students some time
during grades seven through twelve. School districts shall have the option of determining


http://ok.gov/sde/sites/ok.gov.sde/files/documents/files/PFLGuide-StudentsWithDisabilitiesAndELL.pdf
http://ok.gov/sde/sites/ok.gov.sde/files/documents/files/PFLGuide-StudentsWithDisabilitiesAndELL.pdf

when each area of instruction shall be presented to students. Personal financial literacy
instruction shall be integrated into one or more existing courses of study or provided in a
separate personal financial literacy course. School districts shall have the option of
determining into which course or courses each area of instruction shall be integrated.

2. How does a Pre-kindergarten to Grade 8 (PK-8) district handle the instructional delivery
of personal financial literacy?
A PK-8 district is expected by the law to provide instruction in personal financial literacy to
students in grades 7-8 unless the district enters into a vertical articulated agreement with a
PK-12 district, for facilitating and sharing of the personal financial literacy curriculum.

3. What should the “vertical articulated curriculum agreement” contain?
The vertical articulated curriculum agreement should be made between the two or more
local district boards of education. The agreement should provide a clear understanding of
each district’s responsibilities with regard to providing personal financial literacy
instruction. These provisions should include the following:

1) an agreed-upon scope and sequence for the 14 areas of instruction,

2) adesignation of the grades or courses into which the 14 areas of instruction are to
be integrated,

3) adescription of what will be done in the 7" and 8" grades within the dependent
district,

4) teaching resources to be used,
5) common assessments, and

6) a determination whether all personal financial literacy instruction will be done at the
upper secondary level (grades 9-12) of the PK-12 district.

Section 3: Personal financial literacy Standards of Learning

1. How will local districts use the personal financial literacy academic standards?
These standards are mandatory and required by state law. Districts may use the academic
standards as guides for developing local grade-by-grade level curriculum. Implementing
standards may require some school districts to upgrade school and district curriculums. In
some cases, this may result in changes in instructional methods and materials, local
assessments, and professional development opportunities for the teaching and
administrative staff.

2. Are there mandated standards for teaching personal financial literacy?
Yes. The Personal financial literacy Priority Academic Student Skills (PASS) are mandated to
be taught to each student in the public schools in Oklahoma.



3. Is there mandated curriculum for teaching personal financial literacy?
No. There is not a mandated personal financial literacy curriculum. However, an optional
online curriculum will be available on the State Department of Education’s Web site at
http://ok.gov/sde/personal-financial-literacy-teacher-and-student-materials for districts to
download and use. Individual teachers may use all or parts of the personal financial literacy
curriculum for their instructional purposes.

Section 4: Transcripting and Record keeping

1.

What do you call a separate course in personal financial literacy?
The course is called “Personal Financial Literacy.”

What are the course codes for Personal Financial Literacy?
1541

How is the student information to be recorded and managed?
Instruction and record keeping (e.g., grade book, student Passport transcript, and district plan)
should reflect attention to and documentation of each of the 14 areas of instruction.

Where can the district access the electronic version of the Passport (transcript) template?
The electronic Passport template is available on the State Department of Education’s Web site
at http://ok.gov/sde/sites/ok.gov.sde/files/PFLCumRecord.pdf.

When a district offers a separate Personal Financial Literacy course that covers all 14 Areas of
Instruction, can the Passport transcript note the student’s progress in a holistic manner (i.e.,
just one (1) entry as opposed to 14 separate entries)?

No. The requirement is that students show proficiency of the 14 areas of instruction. A district
can choose to have a separate class; however a Passport transcript must still be completed to
show the proficiency in the 14 areas of instruction. The district will still report the grade in the
separate class on the student’s transcript, but they must also complete the Passport transcript
for each student.

Will the Passport (transcript) be available through the WAVE?
No, this is not available.

Is the Passport (transcript) template provided by the State Department of Education required
to be used by all districts?
Yes.

Can “pass/fail” be used to record the student’s grade and/or performance?
No. It must be recorded as a letter grade or percent.

Section 5: Personal Financial Literacy Curriculum Scope and Sequence


http://ok.gov/sde/sites/ok.gov.sde/files/PFLCumRecord.pdf

1. Is there a suggested scope and sequence for the personal financial literacy curriculum?
Yes. The suggested scope and sequence is presented through the order of the Personal financial
literacy PASS standards.

2. Can personal financial literacy be integrated into any course?
Yes.

3. Can personal financial literacy be offered as separate course?
Yes.

4. If a district chooses to offer personal financial literacy during alternative instructional times
(i.e., before/after school, night classes, and/or summer classes), how long does the
instructional period need to be?

There is no specified seat time for instruction in personal financial literacy; however, the time
allotment should be sufficient for students to show satisfactory mastery of the 14 areas of
instruction. Teacher certification and professional development requirements apply to these
alternative instructional times.

Section 8: Transfer Students

1. What are the district requirements related to out-of-state transfers?
For students who transfer into an Oklahoma school district from out of state after the seventh
grade, school districts shall determine the knowledge of the student in each of the 14 areas of
instruction. If the school district determines that the transferred student has successfully
completed instruction in any or all of the areas of personal financial literacy instruction or if the
student demonstrates satisfactory knowledge of any or all of the areas of personal financial
literacy instruction through an assessment, the school district may exempt the student from
completing instruction in that area of personal financial literacy instruction. School districts
may use the assessment contained in the online modules provided by the State Department of
Education to determine the personal financial literacy knowledge level of the student. School
districts may also use the online modules to present an area of instruction to transferred
students who have not completed or who did not demonstrate satisfactory knowledge in one
or more of the areas of personal financial literacy instruction.

2. What requirements of personal financial literacy must an out-of-state transfer student who
enrolls as a senior meet?
For students who transfer into an Oklahoma school district from out of state as a senior, school
districts may make an exception to the requirements for a personal financial literacy passport
pursuant to the provisions of Section 11-103.6 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes. In-state
senior transfers may not be exempted from the requirements of the law by the local school
district.



3. What are the district requirements related to transfer students from another Oklahoma
school district?
For students transferring from another Oklahoma school district after the seventh grade
without a Personal Financial Literacy Passport accompanying their transcripts, school districts
shall determine the knowledge of the student in each of the 14 areas of instruction. If the
school district determines that the transferred student demonstrates satisfactory knowledge of
any or all of the areas of personal financial literacy instruction through an assessment, the
school district may exempt the student from completing instruction in that area of personal
financial literacy instruction. School districts may use the assessment contained in the online
modules provided by the State Department of Education to determine the personal financial
literacy knowledge level of the student. School districts may also use the online modules to
present an area of instruction to transferred students who have not completed or who did not
demonstrate satisfactory knowledge in one or more of the areas of personal financial literacy
instruction.

Section 9: Instructor Certification, Highly Qualified, and Required Professional Development

1. Who can teach personal financial literacy?
Any highly qualified/secondary certified teacher in any subject area.

Section 10: Resources for Teaching Personal Financial Literacy

1. Will there be state adopted textbooks and monies available for purchasing textbooks for the
students?
The State Textbook Committee created in Section 16-101 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes
may, when selecting textbooks for mathematics, economics, or similar courses, select those
textbooks which contain substantive provisions on personal financial literacy.

Personal Financial Literacy is on the textbook cycle in 2017.

2. What supplemental resources are available to teachers?
The State Department of Education Web site includes a list of available resources. Districts may
consider using community professionals (e.g., real estate agents, investment brokers, and
Junior Achievement), Web-based resources, materials provided by financial institutions, etc.



